The Busker

Scripture, originally uploaded by Thomas Baltes.

Cap:

I didn’t dare to approach this blind beggar in Oaxaca, Mexico, because I was ashamed of taking a picture with my $350 worth camera of this starving guy. So, like a coward, I shot from the other side of the street, and missed both of my goals: making a nice picture, and a “social testimony”… Next time… Hope this musician still plays his beautiful music.

I happen to think it’s quite a good picture, although perhaps the subject is a little too small. The red wall sets it off though – and his white stick. I’m not sure I’d call him a beggar – in politically-correct London, we would call him a ‘street entertainer’ or a ‘busker’.

Somewhat ironically, I get the feeling that he knows that he is being photographed from the other side of the street!

Leave a Reply

